en passant

The Resident Expert has been administering a series of relentless chess beat-downs to the Mellowcat in recent game play, but we were able to turn the tables yesterday evening.  The game started out like most of ours; the pawns are all jostling for position but not doing anything too dramatic, and then I left one of my Horsies exposed and one of her Bishops shot in and snagged it.  Advantage, RE.  But Mellowcat was able to keep it together and would eventually win the contest.  I was as surprised as anyone, frankly.  My usual strategy is: a period of milling around with the pawns, some careful positioning of the horsies and bishops, then an expected loss of one or two key guys because I’m not paying close enough attention, followed by desperate and ultimately doomed attempts to attack the king.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.